Skip to content

My thoughts on Barack Obama??? Ask Cornel West:

January 6, 2008

DITTO!!!!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. January 6, 2008 2:50 am

    I’m so happy to see you back. I have missed your thoughtful commentary.

    Cornel was with Obama before it became cool.

  2. Chesapeake permalink
    January 6, 2008 8:43 am

    Happy New Year, TM! That clip of Dr. West is amazing because the substance of what Dr. West is saying there is the reason that Obama is only number 2 for me. Obama’s got a lot of money. His top advisors are white and established. I cannot see how he can be progressive enough as president to deal with the core and root issues ailing the people of this country. But if my man does not get the nomination, I can settle for Obama because he is idealistic (and we need some originality and fresh ideas in the White House).

    You can always count of Dr. West to help us pull the skin back on people and issues. Thanks for the enlightenment.

  3. Denise permalink
    January 6, 2008 1:11 pm

    I have to agree with you, Thought Merchant. I am deeply proud of what Senator Obama accomplished in Iowa on Tuesday, and I don’t need to attempt to diminish that.

    However, as Brotha West has very correctly pointed out, there is much more to this than what we’ve seen thus far.

    Many, many moons ago, I had a chat with my Dad about the “vibe” at a new job he’d helped me to land. The job was in a large, traditionally conservative organization with what one might say a public interest mission. I was very young, naive, and very, very psyched about being there. During our chat, I remember clearly going on and on about the exciting assignments, about how nice the people were, the shared goals, the teamwork, etc. My Dad listened, as all good fathers do, then he said something I’ll never forget: “All that teamwork b.s. will change the minute you have to compete with your colleagues (not just your white colleagues), and the organizational environment ain’t stacked in favor of your interests…”

    I kinda dismissed what he said at the time because, after all, he was talking from an old school mindset and, humpf – I thought I knew a lot more than he did.

    Truer words were never spoken… and I learned it the hard way.

    It’s for this reason that I’m taking the Obama campaign one day at a time. Brotha West has hit the nail on the head. More power to the brotha Barack. I ain’t hating, but I ain’t sleeping on nobody, either.

  4. Akech permalink
    January 6, 2008 11:34 pm

    Are there any African America “THINK TANKS” or groups who can give advise to aspiring leaders like Obama? Why are the campaigns for Blacks in Congress funded by people other than blacks and forcing them to pay no attention to black issues?

    You know, when someone pays for your campaign, s(he) controls how you vote, that means you are there to champion his/her causes -> you are a flunky. The only benefit you get out of this is the congressional salary and benefits. Your constituents are left with nothing.
    This is what has become of many people representing Africans in Congress. The peole paying for their campaign control who/what they vote for or against.

  5. Chesapeake permalink
    January 7, 2008 5:01 pm

    Akech, a candidate may turn down anyone’s money. They have choices.

  6. Magatte permalink
    January 9, 2008 4:10 am

    Just to point out that Cornell West is presently working on Obama’s campaign and is one of his strongest supporters. These comments he made were before he actually got to know the man, and his stand on issues:

  7. Foodminusaur permalink
    January 24, 2008 7:54 pm

    Magatte is right. That clip is very old (in political time) and Cornel West’s concerns about Obama have been addressed and he now fully supports Obama. If West can change his mind, can the rest of you?

  8. Food4Thought permalink
    May 24, 2008 1:10 pm

    My take is..yea what Cornel is saying true, we would love to see what he has for the (black) people.But on the other hand we have to be realistic. We have to pose a few questions, how successful would Obama’s campaign be if he relied on African Americans to be his main supporter? Also, we want Obama to do come at our race and tell us specifically what he’s going to do for us. Yes that would be great. But we have to look at it from all angles. What if Hilary came out and just started talking to white people saying how much she has a passion for them and what she’s going to do for them?

    In reality I don’t believe majority of the black people have the funds to support Obama financially but we can support him in many other ways. I agree with Cornel but on the other hand we just have to remember to look at everything from both sides, it a common mistake in the black race.

    Yes, I am black and a full supporter of Obama and ALL of Dr. Cornel West’s writings. =)

Leave a Reply

